Distance learning - US Bar Eligibility

Trini30
Greetings,

I have a law degree from the University of London obtained via distance education. I have reviewed the current requirements on the NY bar site but am still a bit confused.

1. Can a US LLM obtained by classroom instruction cure the distance learning deficiency in order to qualify to write the NY bar exam?

2. Would pursuing the California bar exam through completing a US LLM be a more viable option?

Thanks for any insights you may be able to provide.

[Edited by Trini30 on Nov 02, 2019]

Greetings,

I have a law degree from the University of London obtained via distance education. I have reviewed the current requirements on the NY bar site but am still a bit confused.

1. Can a US LLM obtained by classroom instruction cure the distance learning deficiency in order to qualify to write the NY bar exam?

2. Would pursuing the California bar exam through completing a US LLM be a more viable option?

Thanks for any insights you may be able to provide.
#
1. Can a US LLM obtained by classroom instruction cure the distance learning deficiency in order to quality to write the NY bar exam?

Hello — I think so because the durational cure provision of §520.6(b)(1)(ii)(a) require “two years of foreign legal education that meets the substantive requirements” and an US LLM degree, but does not specify that those 2 years should be “earned by attendance in regularly scheduled classroom courses at the law school” like in §520.3(c)(1)(ii).

However, you should contact the board of law examiners (a.k.a. BOLE) in order to get a confirmation: https://www.nybarexam.org/Contact/Contact.htm

§520.6(b)(1): https://www.nybarexam.org/Rules/Rules.htm#520.6

(ii) Cure provision. An applicant who does not meet the requirements of subparagraph (i)(a) or (i)(b) may cure either the durational or substantive deficiency, but not both, under the following circumstances: