LLM chances in UK

Hello everyone,

I’m considering doing an LLM in the UK in 2021/2022 (or maybe in the US depending on my chances of getting into a reputable law school).

My background is as follows:

1. Working as a first-year trainee in a local law firm in Hong Kong (focusing on corporate commercial law);

2. Ranked in the top 10 in the postgraduate certificate in laws program (a perquisite to commence a training contract/become a barrister); and

3. Obtained a 2:1 LLB from a Hong Kong law school.

I am motivated to do an LLM program to boost my chances of joining an international law firm after finishing my training contract and to gain some international experience which will be beneficial to my personal and career growth. I prefer doing an LLM focusing on corporate law as that is and will be the focus of my two-year training.

Given my LLB grades, I believe that it is very unlikely that I will be admitted by Oxbridge. Hence, I’m considering the LLM programs offered by other universities with less stringent admission requirements e.g. LSE/UCL (or maybe some T14 law school in the US).

Would anyone be able to advise me on the choices of LLM programs offered in the UK (or the US) and the chances of getting in? What can I do to increase my chances of getting into a reputable LLM program?

Thanks a lot!

[Edited by fortunejolly on Jun 16, 2020]