Hello everyone, I am a lawyer from Colombia, South America (Civil Law) interested in enrolling in an LLM in the 2019-2020 term.

Some background:

- After obtaining my bachelor's degree in law, I obtained a graduate degree in civil liablity and insurance; both of them in Colombia.

- I have taught some private law courses in undergraduate and graduate programs at my University.

- I am starting to learn about national arbitration and plan to become an arbitrator in the near future.

- Since 2014 I have been working at a boutique law firm, advising and litigating in general contract law, civil liability and insurance law.

- After the LLM, I plan to return to Colombia and probably start my own firm (advising and litigating), start teaching private law courses at my University and start my career as an arbitrator. The practice I probably enjoy the most is dispute resolution.

I have been looking at different universities and programs and have a lot of doubts about what would be the best choices for me. I would really appreciate your thoughts, feedback, own experiences and decision criteria for all or any of the following matters regarding LLMs:

1. UK (Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, UCL, QMUL) Vs. USA (Harvard, NYU, Columbia, Berkley, Chicago, Stanford).

2. Specialization Vs. Generalization. Should I aim for concentrated programs and courses in a certain area of law or in different areas which appeal to me.

3. Known Vs. Unknown. Should I stay on the same track of the subjects I already know about or should I expand my knowledge trying subjects I do not have prior experience or knowledge on but seem appealing.